Ensalada de Bacalao
Ensalada de Bacalao

Last night I made one of my husband’s favorites and a traditional Puerto Rican dish.  It is called Ensalada de Bacalao, which translates to Cod Fish Salad.  Now you can’t use just any cod fish, it has to be the dried out, salt preserved cod fish, which I have only found at my local “bodeja”. Unfortunately the picture above is borrowed.  It is the closest representation of what I make looks like, but if you want to try another version with peppers go here.

It looks something like this:

Bacalao (Cod Fish)

Bacalao (Cod Fish)

Ingredients:
1 – 1 1/2 lbs of Salted Cod Fish
1 large Spanish onion, sliced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 medium tomato, seeded & diced
3 hard boiled eggs
1 cup olive oil
1/3 cup of vinegar
1/4 cup stuffed green olives (you can add more if you like)
Salt & Pepper to taste
                                                    Diced Avocado (optional)
 
  1. Wash the cod fish under running water and remove all the salt off.  Then put is to boil in a pot of water for about 30 mins.  Then change the water and and boil for another 20 mins.  Towards the end of boiling drop in the eggs and let them cook. Once the fish is finished drain it and shred it. 
  2. When the fish done , heat the olive oil and vinegar in a sauce pan and saute the sliced onions, garlic & olives with fish.  Cook until onions are translucent. 
  3. When done set aside in a bowl & let cool.
  4. When onions & fish have cooled toss in diced tomatoes, eggs & avocado.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  You shouldn’t need too much salt.

I usually serve this will boiled yucca (cassava root) and green bananas with some olive oil drizzled over them.  If you boil the yucca and green bananas remember to add some salt, I forget sometimes. This is a yummy meal and it keeps well in the refrigerator for a few days, in fact I think it is better the second day. 

Malta India

Malta India

 When I cook this I will also usually go out and get a 6 pack of Malta India.  Now I will say that my experience with malta is that if you did not grow up on it your probably not going to like it.  I would say it is an acquired taste.  I LOVE it especially on a hot day. 

What is Malta? Malta is a type of soft drink. It is a carbinated malt beverage, meaning it is brewed from barley, hops, yeast, and water much like beer; corn and caramel color may also be added. Malta is non-alcoholic.  It is also a treat when you mix it with some evaporated milk. Yum!